Any Cats in the Catskills?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

quiet sun

Reaction score
Our neighbors say they saw a mountain lion this summer crossing the road.
I've lived in the catskills now for four years, hike almost weekly for 20 years and have seen lots of animals, but no cats. Anyone out there seen any?

I have been hiking in the Catskills for 31 years and have never seen a Mountain Lion or other large cat. It seems that at least one a year a similar sighting is claimed somewhere in the Catskills. It is always possible that one is out there or passing through the area. I agree with WCTDave that it was likely a bobcat. I recall an article perhaps a decade ago, probably in the Kaatskill Life magazine, with local photos, titled "A Cat named Bob".

The DEC readily acknowledges that bobcats are in the Catskills and other areas of NYS. An excerpt from a NYS Conservationist magazine centerfold on NYS mammals.
BOBCAT
Found in much of New York State, the bobcat is similar in appearance to a very large house cat, except with a short "bobbed" tail. It has a black spotted tail with a white tip, and short ear tassels. Adult males average 28 pounds, and grow up to 22 inches tall at the shoulder. Bobcats prefer forests, wooded swamps and rocky outcrops. They eat a variety of animals from mice to deer, blue jays to wild turkeys.

cats in the cats

I have also seen bobcat, mink, coy, coyote, deer, porcupine, etc.,and so has my neighbor. This is definitely a panther/ mountain lion/cougar according to them. :)

Last edited:
Catamounts in the Catskills

It may have been a mountain Lion. I was told by a reliable source that some time ago some were released in the Catskills.

But that said- I myself never felt that a sustainable population could be established in this area. It would be interesting, though, if it did happen.