Best of the West

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve-o

Reaction score
I know many of you have been backpacking out west.
I have a rare opportunity to do about a weeks worth of backpacking the last week of july.
I am leaning towards the northwest. Washington,Idaho,Montana,Wyoming,Colorado, ect.
I'm looking for somewhere somewhat remote, out of dayhiker range, to set up a basecamp and do day hikes from there.
any ideas?

Thanks, Stev-o

Hey I live in Colorado and also climb alot in the Sierra's, but when you said you wanted to get away from dayhikers, Im sorry to say that rules out the above places I mentioned. I hear second hand that the Wind River range is a quiet place and easy to find solotude in. I have no firsthand experience though maybe others might. If you change your mind, Ill help with CO or CA, I still think there the best mountains in the country. Good luck.
P.S. remember north of CO its not only remote, Grizzleys also hike up there. :eek:

There are a lot of places to hike out west I could probably give a huge list. You mention wanting to be out of day hiker range, That is easy to do in the west simply because of the lower population. And further distances from major population areas to trailheads and other hiking areas. One thing I have found is that once you get about 4 or more miles out you see less people there are a popular day hikes that are fairly easy. Unlike in he east many of the high peaks do not have marked trails or routes. And require a good amount of rout finding and climbing skills not to mention being comfortable with exposure. One good way to have some solitude and climbs some spectacular peaks is to go mid week. . If you are in Colorado most of the San Juans are remote some require 4x4 to get to the trail head,