Compass Question

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattC

Reaction score
Ulster County, NY Avatar: Chapel Pond From Giant M
I may buy a new compass soon since the print on mine is wearing off and becoming difficult to read. It's a no-frills Brunton and I've been perfectly happy w/ it, except that it's getting so faded. If I buy a new one, I'll keep the old one in my pack as a backup.

Anyway, is there a truly good reason to buy one w/ any of the bells and whistles? For instance, the ones w/ the attached mirror are supposed to help you take a better bearing-any truth to this? I use my compass for basic 'whacking, not competitive orienteering or anything.

Matt

I've been using an old Silva System 7 nl for 20-30 years now. It's a basic baseplate model. No bells, no whistles. :) It's been replaced by the Starter 1-2-3. Silva Starter 1-2-3

These days though I tend to use an altimeter and map more than the compass and map. I guess I don't really care too much about where I'm going, I just want to know...Where am I? :D

I had a Brunton whose azimuth ring (as they call it) became so worn it was unreadable I found their web site and e-mailed them, asking if I could buy just the capsule (which includes the azimuth ring). They said they guaranteed their compasses, took my address, and sent me a new...ah, that oldtimers is acting up. I don't remember if they sent me a new capsule or a whole new compass. I'm somewhat sure it was just the capsule.