Do the Catskills have slides?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adk_dib

Reaction score
I was just looking at a photo I took from mckensie of the centinal range near Lake Placid. It had a slide coming down it and it started me wondering. I have never seen a slide in the Catskills. I have done 15 of the catskill peaks and have only been climbing them for 3 years so I am no expert. You would think with the loose shale rocks they would have more. Am I wrong about this?

Friday Mtn. had a pretty good slide on it that occurred in 1968. It's pretty well grown over now.We climbed it about 2 weeks after it happened in 1968 it was quite impressive for the Catskills. I will have to see if I have any old photos tucked away somewhere.

Last edited:
There are some slides in the Catskills. Not as nice as the ones in the Adirondacks. There were discussed in this VFTT thread, and I added a little more info in this adkhighpeaks thread.

edit. With some reservations I will also add that there is a very recent slide on the steep slopes of Dink (the 3655' false summit south of Cornell). It is very remote, and well below the summit of this dastardly, thickly vegetated, blankedy blank gem. This has been reported and discussed on the 3500 club's list server. To my knowledge no one has yet reached it. I do not recommend seeking it out currently. Although it may have stabilized, Catskill slides are notoriously unstable and typically continue to slide for several years.

Last edited:
Raymond said:
Now you've done it, piquing our interest. Where is this again?
If you are asking about the Dink slide, this is the summit of Dink. The top of the slide is perhaps 500' down the steep eastern slope and just a bit to the north, right side when viewed from the Ashokan Reservoir.