Garmin 305 Edge?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

una_dogger

Reaction score
This would be my first GPS and I like very much that its a combo heart rate monitor. Thought this would be a good place to mine the collective wisdom!

http://www.gosale.com/4661743/garmin...FQIpFQoduCyR6w

Can anyone offer any input on this model. At this point I have no real experience with GPS's, and would be wanting to make sure this unit would get good satellite reception, as I understand that can be a problem with less powerful units.

Also, I already have a HR monitor, so if this "bundle" package doesn't perform well as a GPS, I may just opt for a better model. However, it may be nice to have a combo unit -- since there is the potential for a stand alone GPS to interfere with my HR monitor. It also looks like it would be a cool addition to my cycling.

Am I making any sense??

I haven't used the Edge but have an avid road cyclist friend who does and loves it, but if you're looking for something more all-around with heart rate monitor, I'd also look at the Garmin Forerunner 305. It's a wristwatch for general outdoor training and logging.
And like any GPS, tree cover will effect how well it picks up a signal.

I have the Forerunner 305. Wondering if the electronics are similar to the Edge? In any case, I'm very happy with mine. Very valuable training tool. You can combine graphs of the HR data, elevation, distance, pace, etc. Here's a couple from the Mt. Washington Road last Saturday I posted on my blog:

http://mainerunner.blogspot.com/2007/06/ran-7.html

Last edited: