Hike the Whites - Summer, 2008

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pete Hogan

Reaction score
Hike the Whites – Summer, 2008
Overview
Saratoga Springs, New York

Plans are finalized for this year’s hiking adventure to the White Mountains of New Hampshire. The trip involves 4 consecutive hike days, multiple summits, accumulative ascents greater than 10,000 feet and over 40 total hiking miles.

Our group has been visiting the White Mountains each summer since 2003. As the trip organizer, my experience includes nearly thirty years of Northeast hiking. I am a retired physical education teacher who specialized in adventure education and high ropes course work. As an ADK 46er and former trip leader for the Glens Falls, NY Chapter of ADK, I currently enjoy returning to my favorite summits in addition to planning and participating in outings that bring together a co-ed group of hiking friends (40 - 60 years of age).

Previous years our group completed a day hike from Galehead Hut over the Bonds. We have also enjoyed a 4-day traverse of the Presidential Range with overnights at Madison, Lakes of the Clouds and Mizpah Spring Huts. On one trip, we hiked from Lincoln through the Twins with overnights at Greenleaf and Galehead Huts. Last year we traversed the Wildcats and Carters with overnights at Joe Dodge Lodge and Carter Notch Hut. One year we finished a potpourri hike involving Cannon, North and South Kinsman, Willey, Field, Tom, Zealand, and Hale with overnights at Lonesome Lake, the Highland Center and Zealand Falls. Throughout the years we have been hiking in the Whites, we have thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and amenities of the AMC High Mountain Huts and lodges.