Looking for info on trail building and maintenance

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

funkyfreddy

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm looking for books, links, info, etc. on trail building and maintenance as I'm a rank beginner but have pledged to do some work on the Long Path in the Catskills. I would appreciate all of the advice you can give. Thanks, Fred :)

funkyfreddy said:
Hello everyone! I'm looking for books, links, info, etc. on trail building and maintenance as I'm a rank beginner but have pledged to do some work on the Long Path in the Catskills. I would appreciate all of the advice you can give. Thanks, Fred :)

I'm sure Pete Hickey will post here, but I do know that the AMC sells at least one book on trail creation and maintenance.

This is the AMC Trails bible. It's a very good resource, highly recommended.

Start slow, and work with someone who seems to know what they're doing. :) The most important things to do at first is clearing out waterbars, cutting back brush, and clearing blowdowns. Get familiar with the trail before you start building things or moving rocks.

-dave-

funkyfreddy said:
but have pledged to do some work on the Long Path in the Catskills.
I would SUSPECT that whoever is delegating you with the authority to do the work, would give some kind of training/instruction/etc.

Books are fine. The AMC one is excellent, however there is a certain local 'style' that you won'T really get from a book.

The NYNJTC does trail building workshops on occasion, look for it in The trailwalker

Jay

You're a good doobie....make sure you get photos of yourself carrying your pick maddock, shovel, loppers, bow saw and bucket o' blazing paint! I agree, the AMC book is the trail maintenance benchmark......

Thanks in advance for your service...... ;)

...Jade

David Metsky said:
This is the AMC Trails bible. It's a very good resource, highly recommended.