Mapping software

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sapblatt

Reaction score
I am very new to the mapping software area - I do not have a GPS, nor any immediate plans to get one, but I liked the idea of putting together my own routes, notes, etc for my hikes. I recently bought the East Region of TOPO USA. First of all - I really wish it had a book...I am finding the help files to be tedious...Second, does anyone know if there is a way to remove a MapNote after you put one on your map (on the computer) - or to move a note for that matter. Lastly - has anyone ever noticed how incorrect the maps are at least as far as trail names are concerned?? I am suprised I have never heard this complaint here, but is amazing how many trails are unnamed, or the trail name is assigned to the wrong trail. A couple of examples include the Great Gully Trail being listed as the King Ravine Trail and Short Line is shown as the only trail that reaches the Appalachia parking lot - funny, as it does not even terminate there...everything near the cone of Madison is off...
Does no one care about this because they are just getting coordinates for their GPS's?
Just wondering...

I use TOPO! 4.0, and it's "just OK". I know that doesn't help much. I wanted to get something which would, in addition to hiking, help me with bike rides. I wanted to say "X st. at Y rd., Bedford", "A st. at B. rd., Amherst", ... to form the points for a circuit. It doesn't do this, and the roads are not well-marked.

For trails, it almost always comes up with less distance, by 10-20% than the AMC WMG. I think it ignores the elevation changes (i.e. "PUD") which contribute to it low-balling the distance. It's usually within 50-100' on the elevation, however. How accurately you follow the trail has a big impact, of course.