Mt Washington 11-05-05

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dom15931

Reaction score
I am looking to climb Mt. Washington next Saturday (or Sunday) and would welcome company. If this is something you are interested in PM me. This has been a goal of mine for about a year now and it's looking good. A lot will depend on the weather obviously. Backup dates will be Sun or the following weekend. There are three routes I am considering, listed in my order of preference: 1. Glen boulder and across the boot spur 2. The Ammonoosuc Ravine (a close second) or 3. The Jewell Trail. Any recommdations are greatly appreciated.
Since I live in St. Johnsbury VT I will likely just get up early and be there around sunrise or a bit earlier. Snowshoes, goggles, crampons, and proper winter attire
are basic essentials. I have several years of summer hiking experience and have done several previous winter outings, two of which in foul weather.

Anyone interested?

-Dom

Last edited:
dom15931 said:
I am looking to climb Mt. Washington next Saturday (or Sunday) and would welcome company.

Just bought my own snowshoes and crampons today and I am really looking forward to this. :cool:

Anyone interested?

-Dom

To be honest, if I were to join someone climbing Mt. Washington, I would want them to have more experience using their snowshoes and crampons.

Dom, we just attempted Ammonoosuc Saturday morning and turned back just below the hut. I think we would have made the summit if we had tried Jewell. I left a brief trip report and some pic's. It's absolutely worth trying, as long as you're willing to turn around and make it back down safely.

carole said:
To be honest, if I were to join someone climbing Mt. Washington, I would want them to have more experience using their snowshoes and crampons.