Sat the 20th, Alex's "birthday" hike

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrishandAlex

Reaction score
Sat the 20th will be Alex's last hike before she turns 6.

If the weather is nice, we will attempt Waumbek by the Starr King Trail. We don't know how far we'll get, since we are total beginners with snowshoes. We don't care if we don't get very far, we're just going to have some fun. But we may make it to the top, who knows.

If the weather is REALLY cooperative (little wind...unlikely...), we'll try Moosilauke again via the Glencliff trail. This time with plenty of handwarmers.

If the weather sucks, we'll just do a short slip-and-slide .1 mile trek, just to say we hiked.

I'll check weather repeatedly as day approaches and on Friday will make a final call as to which trail we'll be on.

If anyone would like to join us, please pm. I will bring chocolate to share.

(I haven't told Alex this is a "birthday" hike, it will be a very casual affair, but with chocolate and perhaps me singing the birthday song very loudly at some point).

Waumbek is good choice. I seriously doubt that there will be enough snow for snowshoes unless we get hit latet this week, but traction aids are going to be important. Dependent upon the plowing, you may need to park on the south side of RT 2 rather than the normal trailhead. There is a sharp transition from Hardwoods to softwoods about 2/3rds of the way up, that catches some folks. Dependent upon the weather, it can be a lot colder in this section if there is Northwest wind.

Whatever you do, plan on having some very friendly gray jays at some point.

I am not sure if Sancho the dog is around this winter, but if you encounter a very friendly dog down below, be aware that its only a ruse, the dog loves to steal anything that is not attached to you:)

Thanks for the tips, peakbagger.