Sawteeth->Gothics->Armstrong->UWL->LWJ

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HuiYeng

Reaction score
Hi, I'm totally new to ADK, wonder if anyone can give me info about this range.

1. May I know what is the most common way to do this range?
2. How many miles in total?
3. How much elevation gained in total?

Thanks in advance.

Last month mhrsebago & I did this loop. It was my first trip to the ADK's... wow!
It's about 16 miles with 5000' elevation gain. We did it in a counterclockwise loop. Pic's here.

Onestep

onestep said:
Last month mhrsebago & I did this loop. It was my first trip to the ADK's... wow!
It's about 16 miles with 5000' elevation gain. We did it in a counterclockwise loop. Pic's here.

Onestep
I'd recommend starting at the Wolf Jaws as well. This way, you can at least get the easier peaks out of the way, with out a long walk to Sawteeth, where you may or may not find the trails to Sawteeth and Gothics broken out. I would study the maps so that you know where the bailout routes are. Gothics has a brief section above treeline, and has been known to build up a snow cornice. Approach with caution. The scenic trail gets very little traffic in Winter, so I'd avoid it.

The road walk will speed your way out! :D

2 things I liked about the counterclockwise loop is that:

* climbing UWJ and Armstrong in that direction seemed much easier in icy conditions than decsending them would have been.

* Gothics (and Pyramid) is the climax of the loop and that drives you onwards and upwards. The view of yet-to-be-climbed Gothics from Armstrong is inspiring.

IIRC it took us 10½ hours to do the entire loop.