Sleeping bag suggestions

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Technetium

Reaction score
I recently bought a new backpack to replace the ancient EMS Long Trail II I've been using for many years. That old pack did not have a lot of room for my things, so I have a brand new Gregory Whitney (95 L). It has a bottom pocket for putting a sleeping bag, however I have had the displeasure of finding out that my current sleeping bag (which is as old as the old backpack) does not fit in that pocket. It's way too big.

I should probably get a new one anyway since I hope to do winter backpacking in the White Mountains eventually. What would you recommend that would be able to fit into that pocket?

Getting a sleeping back to fit into that compartment can be an exact science. Bag too big? Won't fit. Bag too small? Wasted space.

I ripped out my bag divider on one pack, and leave it unzipped on another. I'm a stuffer, it keeps the load more balanced and I can easily ensure I have some padding, not a pot handle, sticking into my back.

I recently bought a new backpack to replace the ancient EMS Long Trail II I've been using for many years. That old pack did not have a lot of room for my things, so I have a brand new Gregory Whitney (95 L). It has a bottom pocket for putting a sleeping bag, however I have had the displeasure of finding out that my current sleeping bag (which is as old as the old backpack) does not fit in that pocket. It's way too big.

I should probably get a new one anyway since I hope to do winter backpacking in the White Mountains eventually. What would you recommend that would be able to fit into that pocket?