Wapack trail Hike??

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tuco

Reaction score
After reading Puck's Quinnipiac trail report it got me thinking to do something closer to home and likely easier than the treks to the Whites.

Looked at the 21 mile Wapack Trail and it sounds interesting, easier terrain, less harsh weather patterns and closer to home. Car spotting a must, and I'm not sure how tough it would be.

I am throwing this out to see if anybody has any interest in doing this later in October, maybe November. Was thinking South to North but either way would seem fine.

If interested, PM or post and if there's interest we'll see if we can arrange dates, times, etc.

Any thoughts on the hike in general- since I have NO knowledge of it other than the trail map- is welcome.

A group of us did this last may Wapack end to end
We did it N to S and it's really a nice hike. Not sure that I can do it this time around, depends on the timing.

Last edited:
The Wapack Trail is a beatiful hike to do on an Autumn day, just make sure to wear some hunter orange. Myself and a few friends did it S-N back in Nov., 2003, and we encountered 2 hunters right ON the trail at about the 1/2 way point...

Last edited:
be careful....

you may run into the "missin' link"!!!! :D
p.s. i've done it twice, once in two hikes and once straight thru,both times south to north. it's a nice hike for sure.

Ayup, the group hike that Quietman was part of was my first VFTT event, and the reason I joined after lurking for years.

I'd do it again, either direction. My October weekends are booked up. November is still mostly open, except for an amorphous list of unscheduled hikes on my "to-do" list.

OK- if interested, I can only make it the 19th of November.

I'll wait a while and follow up in early November with anybody that let/lets me know they are interested.