Foot Pain

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Interesting and timely for me. I've just had a pair of defective boots replaced by the manufacturer with a different model, same size. They feel too tight. I stopped by EMS in Concord yesterday, as they are known to have a great shoe department staff and had my feet measured. They said I should be wearing an 8-1/2 or 9 and not the 10 I've been wearing for several years. Any thoughts here? Should I get a second opinion? Is that the reason I have trouble with morton neuroma type pain? I asked about black toes if the shoes were too short and he replied that the cause of black toe was too much movement in the boot. Now I'm really confused. :(

Interesting and timely for me. I've just had a pair of defective boots replaced by the manufacturer with a different model, same size. They feel too tight. I stopped by EMS in Concord yesterday, as they are known to have a great shoe department staff and had my feet measured. They said I should be wearing an 8-1/2 or 9 and not the 10 I've been wearing for several years. Any thoughts here? Should I get a second opinion? Is that the reason I have trouble with morton neuroma type pain? I asked about black toes if the shoes were too short and he replied that the cause of black toe was too much movement in the boot. Now I'm really confused. :(

Ellen - I have wide feet, and for those of us who do alot of hiking/running/etc - I think our feet have a tendency to get wider as we get older. Or at least mine do. One way to compensate for a too-narrow shoe/boot is to buy one a 1/2 or full size larger.

As for black toes - I think you're both right. In any case, it's caused by your toe banging against the front of the boot.

Kevin