Good Geology Reads, Please

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

--M.

Reaction score
From

Views From The Top - Forums > Q&A
glacial cirque on carter ridge?

injektilo said:
Cirques are formed primarily due to frost wedging and are often associated with glaciers because the processes that form cirques are common geologic processes in glacial regions... therefore, a cirque is not always derived from a glacier. Small cirques are excavated beneath snowbanks even where no true glacier exists... snowbanks can grow into glaciers and large cirques are almost entirely the result of glaciers.

My undergrad degree was in geology though I haven't studied true geology in some time... I'm an environemtal consultant who deals mostly with groundwater... so any real geologists feel free to school me in glacial geomorphology. :D

Now, so as not to hijack Forestnome's wonderful thread, I place this question separately:

What books have you geologists, professionally-trained and otherwise, most enjoyed in your quest for understanding our mountains?

There have been some great book threads here, fueling much of my reading for the last year, but I'd like to see more on this topic, if you please.

Thanks,

--Mike

Written in Stone. by the Raymoses

It is a lay book. It is very well written. Alos Mountaineering Freedom of the Hills has a great section on geology.

You're right. They are good writers. Go to Amazon.com, type in the title and click to see inside the book. The introduction hooks you right away.

I borrowed a book from Hermit entitled The Catskills: A geological guide By Robert Titus. I found it pretty good without being overly technical or laden with geological terms I'm not familiar with. I'm not a geologist. Obviosly, it covers the catskills or the area in the hudson valley a bit though.