harness recommendation

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hobbitling

Reaction score
It's my birthday soonish, and I'm thinking of getting a climbing harness. I'd like to be able to use it for pretty much everything, Gym climbing, outdoor trad climbing, and possibly as an alpine/ice harness.

Basically I'd like to build my "big mountain" skills so that some day I'll be able to move to more technical mountaineering, and I'm trying to build up the necessary gear collection so that I could attempt a trip (probably guided or as part of a mountaineering course) up a "Ranier-ish" mountain, without needing to rent everything. It needs to be reasonably comfortable when taking falls, because I'm very new to climbing, and I expect to be falling a lot. I am an utter noob at climbing, but plan on getting a climbing gym membership (the other half of my B-day present) this winter to force myself to build skills and strength

I'm thinking of the Black Diamond Alpine Bod harness. Any comments? anyone used one before?

also on the "to buy" list are a helmet and ice axe. Maybe for Christmas. I've got crampons and mountaineering boots. anything else I'm forgetting?

I'm thinking of the Black Diamond Alpine Bod harness. Any comments? anyone used one before?

that's what we have and do use it for everything. I fall plenty, and it's fine.

also on the "to buy" list are a helmet and ice axe. Maybe for Christmas. I've got crampons and mountaineering boots. anything else I'm forgetting?

If you're not climbing ice you may not need an ice axe, although it's widely accepted that a man is not a real man unless he carries an axe of some sort. If you're climbing ice, you will need 2 climbing axes. If it's winter skills development, a single, standard straight shaft axe is used for self arrest and such.