My take on wilderness regulations and their recent enforcements

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmegillon149

Reaction score
here is my thought on the removal of signs, and even moreso cairns that have been discussed in regards to Bond and Owl's

the wilderness designations are supposed to prevent the ADDING of new stuff, not getting rid of old, hence the Dry River and Similiar shelter sites being allowed to remain(as long as they can do so while still safe and not needing maintenance)

Being that I work in the architecture field, there are situations all the time where buildings violate ordinances(environmental and otherwise) that are newer than they are, yet are allowed to remain, as their demolition would likely lead to more damage, or at least more time, energy and inconveniance than grandfathering them in would.

further if a cairn is there already, won't throwing rocks into the woods potentially be worse for short term killing vegetation and causing minor rock slides than simply leaving it in place.

At the very least having someone performing the tasks requires more effort than leaving them there.

One solution I would like to suggest is an actual maintained trail(if it is in fact an unofficial herd path) to Owl's Head(whichever summit is the true one). All 4k's in NH have trails. As a one of many peakbaggers who don't really bushwack(though I MAY be getting involved in it) there really should be a trail. Afterall trail-less peaks(which Owl's Head will become if they block or eliminate the trail/herdpath) often have spread out the impact of hikers, rather than the singular area of impact of a trail (which is a legit argument made by anti-bushwhacking advocates)

Well thats it for now. Either way I hope to have a good long weekend in the Pemi, cairns or not!

jmegillon149 said: