wildcat x country trail

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hikerfast

Reaction score
whats this cross country ski trail from wildcat down to jackson all about? is it maintained? is it free? where can i read about it? does anyone know about it or has anyone skiied it?

Wildcat Valley trail runs from the top of the lifts at Wildcat down to trails which connect to Jackson. It is part of the Jackson trail system. Maintained, fee.

A nice run, or at least it was when I did it 25 yrs ago.

You can ascend Wildcat on skins (we did it on waxes--it was BS--before skins)
or get a single ride lift ticket. Should be info at the Wildcat and/or Jackson web sites.

Doug

thanks. how is it to ski down. i have 20 year old skinny long skis, that would be considered touring now, and i have a borrowed pair of backcountry skis about as tall as me. i am by no means an expert.

hope this helps:
http://www.jacksonxc.com/Trail_System.htm
http://www.jacksonxc.com/jstftrailmap.htm
http://www.jacksonxc.com/wildcat.htm
http://www.skiwildcat.com

Wildcat Valley Trail - 17.8 km, Most Difficult; connects the summit of Wildcat Mountain to Jackson Village. Skiers should be in top physical condition and thoroughly prepared before attempting upper most section of trail. Skiers must walk 1 mi. Carter Notch Road to Black Mountain Cabin Trail before trail picks up again 150 meters along Melloon Road. A J.S.T.F. parking lot is available 1/2 mile north of Melloon Road. Upper trail closes at 2 PM. Elev. Differential 3,240 Ft.

hikerfast said:
thanks. how is it to ski down. i have 20 year old skinny long skis, that would be considered touring now, and i have a borrowed pair of backcountry skis about as tall as me. i am by no means an expert.