Caffeine and Hiking

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1ADAM12

Reaction score
I have heard that to much caffeine will give you muscle craps while hiking. Is this true? I love my coffee in the morning and when I am at base camp I usually have a cup before I head out on the trail. I have never had any problems with my muscles cramping except maybe the day after my muscles are a bit tight. Which I know was not becasue of the caffeine but because I over exerted myself :eek:

What are your thoughts on caffeine and muscle cramping?

Thanks,
ADAM

Cramps can be brought on by dehydration. Caffeine tends to dehydrate the body. So caffeine could cause cramps.

That being said, one cup of joe in the morning is probably not going to cause enough dehydration to lead to cramps. As long as you're drinking enough water to stay hydrated, it shouldn't be a problem. [NB, I'm not a doctor]

I always carry a plastic French press and freshly ground beans with me on backpacking trips, and will have at least one (and sometimes 2) cups before hitting the trail. I'm very aware of my hydration level though, and make sure to follow up my morning brew with at least 1/2 qt of water to make sure I'm adequately watered for activity. I bring in non-dairy coffee creamer (usually a plain and a chocolate for mocha goodness) and some raw sugar....for me, it's a very nice, relaxing way to start the day....and the campmates have never complained, either.

Regarding your dehydration query.....I've done this on trips of 7-10 days, covering 12-18 miles/day, and at elevations of 11-14k, all without any negative effects that could be attributed to the caffeine consumption. I think so long as you're conscientious about drinking enough water to offset the diuretic properties of the java you're good to go. My .02.

Trekkin