Hawk behavior

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

audrey

VFTT Supporter
Reaction score
Harvard U. is home to a couple of redtail hawks, much to the dismay of several million squirrels. Tonight I watched one select some dead twigs and fly off with them. What could he/she be planning? All I could think was that they may keep replenishing their nests year-round.

audrey said:
Harvard U. is home to a couple of redtail hawks, much to the dismay of several million squirrels. Tonight I watched one select some dead twigs and fly off with them. What could he/she be planning? All I could think was that they may keep replenishing their nests year-round.

I'm not a hawk expert, but they definitely stay here all year round.

My friend runs the CROW (Center for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife) in western MA and is an expert on birds. Too late to call tonight......I'll respond again tomorrow......
By the way, there are red tailed hawks that make their home in Manhattan and a documentary has been made on the birds and their faithful human admirers. It's been on PBS the last couple of weeks. Very interesting and inspiring.....Jade

My sister lives in a large apartment-park in Manhatten.

One day one of the hawks came down and bagged a squirrel right in the middle of the green lawn. It struggled a little while, and soon a crowd developed.

The police took an interest in the crowd and soon there were many vehicles, lights flashing, walkie talkies squawking....

The crowd grew larger and the police began advising people to move along.

Thats life in the city!

We used to breed brittanies (hunting dogs) and after one litter around '97, The pups were about 4 weeks old and I had them out on our back lawn surrounded by chicken wire about 10' in diameter.