I saw my first bear today!

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dentonfabrics

Reaction score
I've been hiking in the Whites for almost 10 years and I've never seen anything bigger than a chipmunk until today. And I damn near didnt even hike today because I hate hiking in the snow and ice. But to me, the only thing worse than hiking in the snow and ice is not hiking at all. So I laced 'em up and got out there.

I tried doing Mt Willey and made it up just shy of Avalon when I realized that I was going to kill myself if I tried to bareboot it any further. So I went back, got on the Mt Willard trail and did Willard. On the way back, right at the end of the trail and about 100 yards from the parking lot, I heard a loud rustling sound off into the woods to my right. I immediately froze and peered into the woods, looking for the source. I must have been looking for a half-minute when I finally saw them -- a mother and her two cubs treed about 20 yards away. I was so PSYCHED!! (I was in Glacier last summer and we were so dissapointed in not seeing a bear that on the last day we actually took OFF the bear bells and stalked the trails hoping to see one!)

I took my camera out and started snapping pictures as I slowly continued down the trail. At last, I saw the mother open it's mouth wide -- like she was doing a noiseless yawn -- that's when I thought I'd make like a tree and get the hell out of there. What a day!!

I know I probably took a chance when I took the camera out but what the hell. You gotta do what you gotta do. And that article about the trio of hikers from PA immediately came to mind but I just couldnt resist the chance.
Anyway, here's a picture. The mother in the tree is clearly visible. The cubs are the black blur a couple of brances above her.