Ski/Snowshoe boots - and winter hikers?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Western

Reaction score
OK, I'm a relative novice to the winter backcountry. I've been on a few overnight snoeshoeing trips in the Catskills and a few overnight ski tours in the Adirondacks - I ski on Karhu Pavos and have Alpina BC 1550 boots. I intend to do more trips this winter and many winters in the future - snow willing.
My issue is around footwear. I have read a lot of the other postings on plastic vs leather and they leave me wondering if I really need another pair of boots? Becuase I like to ski I usually wear my Alpinas on trips and switch off between skis and MSR snowshoes depending on the terrain. I have not tried to wear them with crampons, but don't typically ski/shoe up peaks that require them. I reckon that could change. When in camp I put on a pair of down booties. This setup has worked fine for me thus far, even down to -20 on one multi-night trip in the Adirondacks. Does anyone out there foresee a problem with this setup? Am I setting myself up for a potential problem/risk? I wouldn't want to carry a second set of boots on a ski tour would I? Any advice would be appreciated.

Yeah, I guess you're right. I was just wondering if any of you with more experience than I saw some serious risks or problems with my setup - if XYZ happened then you would be in trouble or you won't be able to go to ABC mountain in certain conditions.