Best (mass produced)chocolate bar for hiking?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Best mass produced chocolate bar for hiking?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Fisher Cat

Reaction score
When reviewing my journal for the end of (my)hiking year, I realized how upset I was on our Hancock's trip that my stash of Snickers had easily warped and melted! This despite being in an isolation chamber of my pack far from body heat. It makes me wonder if they've been reformulated. Hey, Oreo's haven't been the same since they did. Anyway, before the age of Power/Clif bars and the like what was everybody's favorite? I thought of some, but if you have another I'd love to hear it. Though I would find Skybar's (ick!) hard to believe. Sorry if this has been done before, but I'm still a newbie to the site.

Trader Joe's Pound Plus with anything added is one honkin' big and thick candy bar. Good for those epic hikes in cold weather. Keep it warm enough so it doesn't break your teeth though. In super-cold weather, anything Reese's (does peanut butter added count?).
Weatherman

Sorry dude, your poll stinks! No Peanut Butter Twix Bars or Reeces Peanut Butter Nut Bars! :D

-Dr. Wu

I've heard that about the ones from UK. We have a friend here whose from Scotland originally and she swears by them that they are much better than ones here in US.

giggy said:
Cadbury's Dairy Milk - has to be ones from the UK or Ireland - the ones here are made by hershey.

"Cadbury's Wholenut" made in the UK gets my vote, I used to get thru 1/2lb bar every hike back there.
....why did they change the formula for North America?

prino said:
"Cadbury's Wholenut" made in the UK gets my vote, I used to get thru 1/2lb bar every hike back there.
....why did they change the formula for North America?

they probably didn't. just can't get it right -

http://www.hersheys.com/products/details/cadbury.asp