Rock Climbing questions

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toe Cozy

Reaction score
Springfield, Springfield!. Avatar: Spruce Peak Kim
Hi,

What can anyone tell me about learning to climb? Does one take lessons? Any recommendations for good places to get instruction? I don't know anything about the logistics of climbing, I just know that I'm really intrigued to try it out. Don't hear much about climbing on this site but thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks for any iand all info!

Toe Cozy

Learning to climb is a pretty easy thing to do. I have been learning along side my wife for the past 6 months and it has been a great experience.

The best recommendation I can give you is to find a local climbing gym, and ask them what to do. I frequent www.stoneagerockgym.com in manchester. The first time you go there, you pay about 55 dollars, and you can borrow all the gear, and they will show you the ropes. After that it is much cheaper to use the gym, especially if you get your own shoes/harness.

The people there are really great, especially Mike, and I have worked on my technique with him a few times.

After that, there are various other places teaching the outside stuff. Stone Age does offer it, but it is expensive. EMS has a 105 dollar top rope anchor course which I am going to take next weekend. I will let you know if it is any good.

-percious

I agree with Precious that learning to climb is easy...that is at the rock gym. Climbing out on the real stuff was a totally different experience for me though. I gave rock climbing a stab a few years back with a friend of mine who had been doing it for years and my first time out was exhausting. Ater a few tries my arms were spent as my technique was not very efficient. I would suggest maybe looking into a lesson with EMS climbing school. I was suprised at how much there is to learn about the sport.

Good Luck!

-MEB