Gatheriong 7.0 (Catskills) - just hiking requests and plans

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Papa Bear

Reaction score
This thread is intended for just hiking requests and plans for the 7.0 Catskill Gathering in September.

Please post all discusions for parties, places to eat, where to camp, how to drive, who brings the beer and all those important things that belong to a gathering in the existing thread: Existing thread

For those less important functions such as hiking ;), Please post here.

Pb

Last edited:
I would like to bag Slide, Hunter and Black Dome while I'm otherwise enjoying myself at the Gathering ;).

Anyone want to do these in 1, 2, or 3 days or in combinations let me know. I'm a Catskills newbie but people know these are on certain lists. (The 111s and the P2ks)

Thanks
pb

I am considering the portion of the Devil's Path from 214 to Spruceton Rd for that Weekend one day if anybody is interested. The thought of Cornell Slide Wittenberg is also intersting. I am not fulfilling a list so otherwise I am game for anything.

Last edited:
I am really a Catskill newcomer. I was thinking about Slide, Cornell and Wittenberg. Since I am also after the fire towers, Balsam and Hunter are also possibilities. Of course, I am open to suggestions from more expereinced Catskill hikers.

OK, Papa Bear, ya stumped me. I thought I knew it all with peakbagging in the Northeast ... but the "P2ks" is a new one to me. What the heck?

I do not recall having seen the term "P2K" previously, but would bet (knowing PB) that he means peaks with prominence of 2,000 feet or more. I am unaware of a source of information on the prominences of NY peaks, for the New England peaks see Roy's New England Fifty Finest Peaks.

Prominence is an example of the same psychopathology that leads to county highpointing. I suffer from the latter, PB seems stricken with the former :)

Last edited: